Reorganization Meeting January 2, 2024

Mayor Bailey announced that all newly elected officials were previously sworn earlier by Magisterial District Judge Charles Moore and all may take their seats.

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Bailey at 7:00pm in Council Chambers at 1 Etze Avenue, Mount Pleasant, PA 15666. The Pledge of Allegiance was said Mayor Bailey directed Borough Manager Landy to take roll. Councilpersons present included Barrick, Lasko, Stevenson, Davis, Barnes, Czekanski, Wojnar, Phillabaum and Ruszkowski. Solicitor was not present. Mayor Bailey stated we have a quorum.

Matters of Business:

Mayor Bailey called for nominations and elections for President of Council. Councilman Phillabaum nominated Councilwoman Ruszkowski. Nomination was seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. There were no other nominations. Councilwoman Ruszkowski was elected as Council President.

The meeting was turned over to newly elected Council President Ruszkowski.

Councilwoman Ruszkowski called for nominations for Vice-President. Councilwoman Wojnar nominated Councilman Ken Phillabaum. Nomination was seconded by Councilwoman Lasko. There were no other nominations. Councilman Phillabaum was elected as Council Vice President.

Council President Ruszkowski called for nominations for President Pro-Tem. Councilman Phillabaum nominated Councilman Barrick. Nomination was seconded by Councilwoman Czekanski. There were no other nominations. Councilman Barrick was elected Council President Pro-Tem.

Appointment of Borough Officials:

Council President Ruszkowski read the following appointments to be made, if appointment is made without an objection, no second is required:

Retain Sharon Lesko as Mount Pleasant Borough Manager. No objections were made.

Retain George Grippo as Mount Pleasant Borough Police Chief. No objections were made.

Retain Mark Cypher as the Mount Pleasant Borough Code Officer. No objections were made.

A Motion was made by Councilwoman Stevenson to retain Hewitt & Leechalk, an affiliate of Avolio Law Group, LLC as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor.

Councilwoman Barnes asked for a clarification and stated that Avolio Law Group was involved in a case against the Borough; however, that case has been withdrawn. Borough Manager Lesko stated that she has withdrawn her case and the Estate of Jeff Landy

Councilman Phillabaum asked for a roll call vote. Council President Ruszkowski asked Borough Manager to take a roll call vote to retain Hewitt & Leechalk, an affiliate of Avolio Law Group, LLC as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor:

Councilman Barrick	Yes
Councilwoman Lasko	Yes
Councilwoman Stevenson	Yes
Councilman Davis	No
Councilwoman Barnes	No
Councilwoman Czekanski	Yes
Councilwoman Wojnar	Yes
Councilman Phillabaum	Abstained – did not announce conflict.
Council President Ruszkowski	Yes

Councilwoman Lasko asked for the reason of abstention. Resident Richard Cholock announced from the audience and said that he doesn't have to explain it. Councilwoman Lasko disagreed. Councilman Phillabaum stated that he will complete a Conflict-of-Interest Abstention Form.

The vote to retain Hewitt & Leechalk, an affiliate of Avolio Law Group, LLC as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor was 6 Yes; 2 No; and 1 abstention.

Retain Opst and Associates as Mount Pleasant Borough Auditor. No objections were made.

Retain K2 Engineering as the Mount Pleasant Borough Building Inspectors. No objections were made.

Retain Gibson-Thomas Engineering as the engineering firm for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Paul Harenchar as Fire Chief/Fire Marshal for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Paul Harenchar as Emergency Management Coordinator. No objections were made. No objections were made.

Retain Zachary Gergas as Emergency Management Deputy Coordinator. No objections were made. No objections were made.

Retain Leslie J. Mlakar of Avolio Law Group, LLC as Solicitor of the Planning Commission for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Tim Witt as Solicitor of the Zoning Hearing Board for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Robert Regola as Government Consultant and Grants for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

A) Borough Appointments

Appoint Sharon Lesko as Secretary/Treasurer for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Sharon Lesko as the Open Records Officer for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilman Ken Phillabaum as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. No objections were made.

Appoint Patience Barnes as Alternate Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. No objections were made.

Appoint Cindy Wojnar as Representative to the Library Board. No objections were made.

Appoint Ken Phillabaum as Alternate Representative to the Library Board. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilwoman Susan Ruszkowski to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint Caprice Mills as alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint Sharon Lesko as second alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint <u>Michael Ruszkowski</u> as Chairman of the Vacancy Board. No objections were made. Council President Ruszkowski abstained.

B) General Administrative Business

Adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Council meeting procedure. No objections were made. No objections were made.

Designate President, Vice President and Borough Manager as authorized signers for Borough fund accounts. No objections were made.

Designate depositories of Borough funds as Dollar Bank, Scottdale Bank & Trust, a division of Mid Penn, and Somerset Trust Company. No objections were made.

C) Appointments to Boards and Authorities

Appoint <u>Susan Ruszkowski</u> to Mount Pleasant Civil Service Board for a 4-year term expiring 12-31-2027. No objections were made.

Appoint <u>Phyllis Mecurio</u> to Mount Pleasant Zoning Hearing Board for the remaining 5-year term which expires 12-31-2025 (expired 12/31/2020). No objections were made.

Appoint <u>Nino Barsotti</u> to Mount Pleasant Zoning Hearing Board for the remaining 5-year term which expires 12-31-2027 (expired 12/31/2022). No objections were made.

Appoint <u>Michael Ruszkowski</u> to Mount Pleasant Zoning Hearing Board for a 5year term expiring 12-31-2028 (expired 12/31/2023). No objections were made. Council President Ruszkowski abstained.

Miscellaneous and Adjournment

A motion was made by Councilwoman Stevenson to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Councilman Phillabaum. Motion carried 9-0.

Meeting Adjourned 7:20pm